Discussions

Frustrated! SSL checkout & cart not working

I though this module would be better than ubercart but Im not a programmer. It has been frustrating to get anything with SSL to work. Countless post for ubercart and here seem to list these problems yet I haven't seen a fix.
When an a user, whether they are an administrator, anonymous, or authenticated, goes or clicks to the cart or checkout, nothing works. The cart is shown as empty & the checkout redirects to the home page. Using mixed SSL has been bad, but just straight SSL worked, but why does it have to be SSL for every page. All users have access checkout permissions. So why the issue. I have been working on this for three weeks with not luck.
IF ANYONE has the slight fix for this it would be greatly appreciated to not just myself, but alot of others.

Posted: Sep 30, 2011

Comments

rfay Randy Fay on October 3, 2011

This actually has nothing to do with Commerce. It sounds like your webserver configuration or secure_pages configuration is causing the user's cookie to be lost. I actually recommend SSL for every page, as it protects the user's password and cookie from wireless sniffing and such.

scott.carlton on October 3, 2011

Ya that's the way I've gone, but still having other issues. It seems to be one after another. Plus their isn't a UPS shipping module and I have no idea how to write one. I love the power of drupal commerce & drupal itself but it's just worn me down.
Switch to wordpress, but the commerce isn't as powerful.

rfay Randy Fay on October 3, 2011

I certainly know how that goes! It is in fact frustrating.

UPS for Commerce Shipping will be along "real soon now" as shipping is where most of Ryan's effort is going.

scott.carlton on October 5, 2011

Ya, I have been following that lately. Frustration has subside and back to just working on it. Thanks for all your help.

mnols on November 20, 2011